Facebook (Meta) is one of the longest established social networks with millions of users around the world. It is more than likely that you still use it today and that your family and friends can be found there.
Still, there are features that you might not know despite years of use, and one of them is finding out if someone blocked you. The social network doesn’t tell you directly, so here we explain a series of methods to find out for yourself.
How do I find out if I’ve been blocked on Facebook?
If someone has blocked you on Facebook (meta), you’ll see a set of indicators similar to what you see when a user is no longer in your friends list. There are more indicators that point to a blockage, though, and we’ve listed them here for you to spot.
- That person disappears from your friends list
- You cannot find him/her in the search engine
- You can no longer tag them in your posts
- This contact’s posts will not appear on your Wall
- You can’t see this person’s profile page
- You can no longer invite them to events or groups
- You can’t text her
Someone disappears from your friends list
When someone blocked you on Facebook, the first thing you see is that the person has disappeared from your friends list (if she was there before). If you have hundreds or thousands of friends, it will be difficult to notice, but if you’ve had a conflict with a particular user, you can focus your search on finding out if they’re still on your list.
You can’t find the person in the search engine
If everything goes as usual, you can type someone’s name in the search bar and their profile will appear. However, one possible sign of a ban is that the person does not appear when you search for them. But it can also mean that the account has been deleted.
You can no longer tag them in your posts
Another detail that lets you know that someone has blocked you on this social network is that you stop tagging your posts can. To check, just open a new post, click tag person, and if their name doesn’t appear, that’s another sign of a possible block.
The posts do not appear on your wall
If it’s been common for you to find several posts from this person on your homepage, but nothing from them lately, chances are they’ve blocked you. Because an indication of a blockage is exactly if that person’s posts will disappear from your wall.
You can’t see this person’s profile page
Another sign that you’ve been blocked is that you can’t see her profile page when you search for her on Facebook. This could be a clear sign that the account has been deleted, but it could also be that the person has blocked you entirely and therefore the ability to find them is gone.
You can’t invite the person to events or groups
If you want to be even more sure that this person has blocked you, you can try inviting them to events or groupsthat you create on Facebook. If you don’t see their name when you search for them to send them an invite, that’s another sign of a possible block.
You can’t send them messages on Facebook Messenger
The final tactic for finding out if someone has blocked you is to open Facebook Messenger and try to message the person. If you don’t see them in the list, it means they’ve either deleted their account or blocked you, limiting communication with you.
As you can see, there is no foolproof way to find out if a user has blocked you or deleted their Facebook account. When in doubt, it’s best to ask the person directly via another social network (e.g. Instagram as it is connected to Facebook because it is part of Meta).